JOHN P. FARIS, JR. A notable new voice in the art of storytelling. - Jim Casada, Sporting Classics Magazine arrow_back arrow_forward A Delightful New Book The Tide Flows Out John's newest release now available to order arrow_back arrow_forward For Book Lovers "Relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Babcock, Rutledge, and Ruark" - Jim Casada, Sporting Classics Magazine arrow_back arrow_forward Latest Book Release THE TIDE FLOWS OUT In this third collection of outdoor stories, you'll see John as the consummate outdoor sportsman. It is the delightful combination of genuine outdoor love and his ability to spin a good yarn that makes John's writing compelling. Read an excerpt Order Today
Home2021-03-03T22:36:52+00:00

John P. Faris, Jr.

John P. Faris, Jr. is a native of South Carolina. His passion since childhood has been hunting and fishing. He enjoys farming, boat building, woodworking, photography and writing. John’s first three books, a collection of hunting and fishing stories, is now available to purchase online.

AUTHOR

WORLD TRAVELER

PHOTOGRAPHER

WOODWORKER

OUTDOORSMAN

WILDLIFE MANAGER

GIFTS for Book Lovers

of sporting tellers of tales such as Buckingham, Babcock, Ruark and Rutledge!

Signed copies are available with an option to personalize John’s message!

Order Today

Book Reviews

Read All Reviews

JOHN FARIS: A NOTABLE NEW VOICE IN THE ART OF STORYTELLING

The writing of John Faris exudes reality, seizes the reader’s heart, and takes us delightfully to fields and waters of dreams. This is relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Babcock, Rutledge, and Ruark in his ‘Old Man’ pieces.

Jim Casada, Renowned Author, Sporting Classics Magazine Editor-at-Large and Book Columnist

Must Read for Every Outdoorsman

This is a phenomenal book of hunting and fishing stories in the south. It truly gives you the feeling that you are there with the author experiencing each one of his fishing or hunting adventures. It is a must read for every outdoor sports enthusiast.

Al F.

Sharing the Experience

The book was a Christmas gift for my husband who is an avid outdoorsman. He said it made him feel as if he were there sharing the hunting and fishing experiences with the author. As with any good book, it was a let down when he finished it. . . like losing a good friend.

Jane D.

Events

MEET JOHN IN PERSON

BOOK SIGNINGS

MEET & GREETS

BOOK READINGS

All personal appearances and events are currently suspended due to the ongoing global pandemic. Subscribe to our newsletter below for the latest updates and upcoming schedule.

Subscribe To My Newsletter

BOOK UPDATES   •  BOOK SIGNINGS & EVENTS   •   SPECIAL OFFERS  & MORE

We respect your privacy.

Recent Articles

READ THE LATEST ENTRIES

All Articles

Sporting Classics Review of We’ll Do It Tomorrow

I was honored that my new book We’ll Do It Tomorrow was reviewed by Sporting Classics magazine. Click on the picture to see the article in context or read the excerpt below.

Review of We'll Do It Tomorrow

“Finally, as a nice counterpoise to stories of big game and distant locales, there’s John P. Faris Jr’s We’ll Do It Tomorrow: Southern Hunting and Fishing Stories (Hardbound, 253 pages, illustrated, $28.99 from www.outdoorstories.com).  This is the talented author’s second book-length venture into storytelling, with his previous effort, Ten Was the Deal, having carved a comfortable niche in the ranks of contemporary Southern tellers of sporting tales.

The book’s subject matter ranges widely and encompasses the quarries and activities that typify local outdoor pursuits in the heartland of the South – whitetails and cottontails, bass and a first gun, simple culinary pleasures, little things that are part of the sporting experience, and much more.  If you read the book’s title story and don’t find yourself dabbing your eyes or with a catch in your throat, some serious self-examination is in order.  The piece is that moving and meaningful.

Mostly though, this is just relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Havilah Babcock, Archibald Rutledge, Robert Ruark in his “Old Man” pieces, or Charlie Elliott at his best.  As Southern as a slice of pecan pie or Vienna sausages and Saltines on a summer fishing trip, this is a book meant not just for sons and daughters of the South, but anyone who relishes those warm and winsome hours devoted to being astream or afield.”

May 15th, 2017|
Load More Posts
Go to Top