JOHN P. FARIS, JR. A notable new voice in the art of storytelling. - Jim Casada, Sporting Classics Magazine arrow_back arrow_forward A Delightful New Book The Tide Flows Out John's newest release now available to order arrow_back arrow_forward For Book Lovers "Relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Babcock, Rutledge, and Ruark" - Jim Casada, Sporting Classics Magazine arrow_back arrow_forward Latest Book Release THE TIDE FLOWS OUT In this third collection of outdoor stories, you'll see John as the consummate outdoor sportsman. It is the delightful combination of genuine outdoor love and his ability to spin a good yarn that makes John's writing compelling. Read an excerpt Order Today
Home2020-11-16T15:48:38+00:00

John P. Faris, Jr.

John P. Faris, Jr. is a native of South Carolina. His passion since childhood has been hunting and fishing. He enjoys farming, boat building, woodworking, photography and writing. John’s first three books, a collection of hunting and fishing stories, is now available to purchase online.

AUTHOR

WORLD TRAVELER

PHOTOGRAPHER

WOODWORKER

OUTDOORSMAN

WILDLIFE MANAGER

GIFTS for Book Lovers

of sporting tellers of tales such as Buckingham, Babcock, Ruark and Rutledge!

Signed copies are available with an option to personalize John’s message!

Order Today

Book Reviews

Read All Reviews

JOHN FARIS: A NOTABLE NEW VOICE IN THE ART OF STORYTELLING

The writing of John Faris exudes reality, seizes the reader’s heart, and takes us delightfully to fields and waters of dreams. This is relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Babcock, Rutledge, and Ruark in his ‘Old Man’ pieces.

Jim Casada, Renowned Author, Sporting Classics Magazine Editor-at-Large and Book Columnist

Must Read for Every Outdoorsman

This is a phenomenal book of hunting and fishing stories in the south. It truly gives you the feeling that you are there with the author experiencing each one of his fishing or hunting adventures. It is a must read for every outdoor sports enthusiast.

Al F.

Sharing the Experience

The book was a Christmas gift for my husband who is an avid outdoorsman. He said it made him feel as if he were there sharing the hunting and fishing experiences with the author. As with any good book, it was a let down when he finished it. . . like losing a good friend.

Jane D.

Events

MEET JOHN IN PERSON

BOOK SIGNINGS

MEET & GREETS

BOOK READINGS

All personal appearances and events are currently suspended due to the ongoing global pandemic. Subscribe to our newsletter below for the latest updates and upcoming schedule.

Subscribe To My Newsletter

BOOK UPDATES   •  BOOK SIGNINGS & EVENTS   •   SPECIAL OFFERS  & MORE

We respect your privacy.

Recent Articles

READ THE LATEST ENTRIES

All Articles

Faris weaves tales of the South

Spartanburg Herald Journal featured an article written by Kirk Neely. Click on the newspaper clipping to read the digital article on GoUpstate.com or read the excerpt below.

Newspaper article clipping of Southern Storyteller John P. Faris, Jr.

Faris weaves tales of the South

By KIRK NEELY for the Herald-Journal
October 20, 2013

Late one afternoon last week, I talked by cell phone to my friend John Faris. John was out in the country sitting on the front porch of a log cabin he had restored several years ago. We talked about his new book, “Ten Was the Deal: Southern Hunting and Fishing Stories.” John, who appreciates a good tale as much as I do, is truly a Southern storyteller.

One night six years ago John and I sat in a boat on a farm pond in Laurens County way past dark. Under a full moon in May we caught bream on fly rods and swapped stories.

Storytelling is a treasured part of John’s heritage and mine.

A storyteller takes delight when others want to listen. An audience of a few or a large group that enjoy a tale is all the encouragement needed. When one storyteller encounters another, their joy is multiplied. That has been my experience with my good friend John.

John is an outdoorsman as well as a Southern storyteller. He was reared in Laurens, in the 1950s and ’60s. He cherishes family and friends and enjoys adventures as a sportsman. Now John has written a book. “Ten Was the Deal: Southern Hunting and Fishing Stories” is a collection of 10 of his stories. More than a book of adventures about hunting and fishing, this volume is about coming of age in the South. It has all of the enchantment of yarns spun while sitting on the tailgate of a pickup truck; all of the lore of tales told around a campfire.

Set in woodlands, along Piedmont streams, in Lowcountry fields, or along the coast of the Carolinas, these stories reveal a boy’s journey to manhood: turkey hunting with a grandfather, duck hunting with a dad, and his first kiss with a fishing buddy.

Some of John’s best stories emerge while angling for bass in a Midlands farm pond or perched in a duck blind in Pamlico Sound. John writes about shooting wood ducks and a U.S. Army helicopter on the same day. He tells us how battleships moving down the Atlantic coast and fishing for spot tail bass make for the best day ever.

In these pages we learn the secret recipe for the best dang lard in Laurens County. We discover how duck hunting can lead to a good grade in a high school French class. We hear the story behind the sage advice that big possums walk late.

“Ten Was the Deal” should be a fixture in every hunting and fishing lodge across America. It should be by the bedside of every sportsman. Packed with Southern charm and down-home humor, this book is one you will return to again and again.

I have read John’s book from cover to cover. These stories will often make you laugh out loud. Some of these stories will bring a tear to your eye. I intend to give several copies as Christmas presents. Sportsman or not, if you enjoy a good story, you will love “Ten Was the Deal: Southern Hunting and Fishing Stories.” I highly recommend it to you.

All proceeds from the sale of this book will be donated to The Encouraging Word.

November 6th, 2020|
Load More Posts
Go to Top