post

Sporting Classics Review of We’ll Do It Tomorrow

I was honored that my new book We’ll Do It Tomorrow was reviewed by Sporting Classics magazine.  Click on the picture to see the article in context or read the excerpt below.

 

Review of We'll Do It Tomorrow

“Finally, as a nice counterpoise to stories of big game and distant locales, there’s John P. Faris Jr’s We’ll Do It Tomorrow: Southern Hunting and Fishing Stories (Hardbound, 253 pages, illustrated, $28.99 from www.outdoorstories.com).  This is the talented author’s second book-length venture into storytelling, with his previous effort, Ten Was the Deal, having carved a comfortable niche in the ranks of contemporary Southern tellers of sporting tales.

The book’s subject matter ranges widely and encompasses the quarries and activities that typify local outdoor pursuits in the heartland of the South – whitetails and cottontails, bass and a first gun, simple culinary pleasures, little things that are part of the sporting experience, and much more.  If you read the book’s title story and don’t find yourself dabbing your eyes or with a catch in your throat, some serious self-examination is in order.  The piece is that moving and meaningful.

Mostly though, this is just relaxed literature on the outdoors in the vein of Havilah Babcock, Archibald Rutledge, Robert Ruark in his “Old Man” pieces, or Charlie Elliott at his best.  As Southern as a slice of pecan pie or Vienna sausages and Saltines on a summer fishing trip, this is a book meant not just for sons and daughters of the South, but anyone who relishes those warm and winsome hours devoted to being astream or afield.”